Product Lifecycle Management (PLM System)
For Product Engineering and Product Management


The number of products that include a combination of software and electronics is rapidly growing and the requirements placed on flexibility, agility and variant management are therefore continuously increasing. These are the main factors that drive digital engineering and product management, from product engineering all the way to operations, making advanced and forward thinking Product Lifecycle Management (PLM) a must.

The evolution of PLM in the enterprise


Today, PLM is an integrated discipline that covers the entire product lifecycle and is embedded across the enterprise, from requirements management to the processing of IoT data. It needs to take into account the information provided by the mechatronics disciplines, every step on the way. These product related pieces of information come together to describe the product as a digital information twin, which in turn is used to create the digital twin. Digital threads are established, enabling effective impact and change analysis across the product lifecycle. The digital thread feeds back information from the field to the product engineering processes.

The digital information twin


A lifecycle file that is populated with new information throughout the product lifecycle and contains product data and documents that mirror the technical structure of a product, plant or technical infrastructure is a digital information twin. It brings the information stored in the Product Data Backbone into a common context, creating an accurate picture of a piece of machinery or plant.

A digital information twin provides the basis for the digital twin – at any point in the lifecycle from rough design to production, commissioning and operational monitoring. So, before anyone would even consider the virtual commissioning of a product, the underlying data in the PLM system must be complete and consistent.

IoT data that comes back from the field constitutes vital information from which companies can draw conclusions for their product engineering and product management. This data contributes directly to a continuous improvement process (change management), transforming the product lifecycle into a closed loop PLM process.

PLM platforms such as PRO.FILE are ideally suited to establish these types of digital information twins, which, in turn are the key to digital concepts all the way through to virtual commissioning.

The digital thread:
benefits and implementation


How will an urgent service call impact changes to a critical part?

Once all the information created throughout the project engineering and product management process becomes available digitally in the Product Data Backbone of a PLM system, the relationships and dependencies within PLM processes, that used to only exist in the heads of relevant employees, are now visible and clearly traceable through the system. This allows companies to draw product engineering conclusions and perform impact analyses for predictive maintenance purposes and to fine tune them to the version at hand. This is what’s called the digital thread.



PRO.FILE: The hub for digital collaboration in product engineering and product management

PRO.FILE serves as a Product Data Backbone and collaboration platform, along the product engineering process and across the entire product lifecycle. By combining it with the collaborative PLM platform PROOM, you can go beyond the in house departments and disciplines involved and seamlessly integrate your external partners, suppliers, and customers, giving you full control over your PLM processes.


Gain digital dependency knowledge across the entire product lifecycle

Establish digital information twins as the key to building digital twins

Incorporate IoT information to drive continuous improvement

Weave a digital thread: view and leverage digital information across the product lifecycle. Adopt modern collaboration practices to connect departments, disciplines, and external stakeholders

Customer reference: 2G Energy AG

With PRO.FILE, 2G Energy now has a PLM solution that allows it to document even its most complex products and to control its technical and business workflows, including a number of Industry 4.0 applications. The flood of digital documents and the need to control them as part of their daily routines used to cause the employees at 2G Energy AG major headaches. Today, the company is a model for interdepartmental collaboration based on PRO.FILE.

We used to have paper-based assembly reports and stacks of copies circulate around the company. Now, the PRO.FILE project dashboard allows us to instantly track the status of any report in any service region and to immediately retrieve the information our customers are looking for.

Christoph Bäumer, Regional Service Manager at 2G

Download the success story

Learn more
Let us tell you a little more about PLM solutions



PRO.FILE Brochure
Find out how you can manage, control, and integrate your product data and documents with the PRO.FILE PDM/PLM system.




Learn more about PRO.FILE
Find out how the PRO.FILE platform enables modern product and document lifecycle management




Live Webinars
Learn more about the PRO.FILE PDM/PLM/DMS system. Your resource for first-hand expertise




Knowledge Portal
Go to our knowledge portal to read more about PLM with PRO.FILE and how it enables digitalization

Product Lifecycle Management (PLM)
für Produktentstehung und Product Management

Heutige Produkte setzen sich zunehmend aus Software und Elektronik zusammen.
Hinzu kommen steigende Anforderungen an die Flexibilität, die Schnelligkeit und an das Variantenmanagement.
Dies sind die treibenden Faktoren für Digital Engineering and -Product Management von der Produktentstehung bis zum Betrieb
und dies erfordert ein weiter entwickeltes und modernes Product Lifecycle Management (PLM).

Die Evolution des PLM im Unternehmen

PLM ist heute eine ganzheitliche Disziplin über den gesamten Product Lifecycle und im gesamten Unternehmen – vom Anforderungsmanagement bis zur Verarbeitung von IoT Daten. Es muss bei jedem Arbeitsschritt die Informationen aus den mechatronischen Disziplinen berücksichtigen. Diese produktbezogenen Informationen beschreiben das Produkt als Digitaler Informationszwilling – aus dem sich wiederum der Digitale Zwilling ableitet. Digital Threads erlauben Auswirkungs- und Änderungsanalysen über den Product Lifecycle. Der Digital Thread spiegelt Informationen aus dem Feld zurück in die Produktentstehungsprozesse.

Der Digitale Informationszwilling

Eine sich über den Product Lifecycle hinweg füllende Lebenslaufakte von Produktdaten und Dokumenten, die sich an der technischen Struktur eines Produktes, einer Anlage oder einer technischen Infrastruktur orientiert, beschreibt den „Digitalen Informationszwilling“. Er bringt also die im Product Data Backbone gespeicherten Informationen miteinander in Verbindung und schafft so ein beschreibendes Abbild einer Maschine oder Anlage.

Ein Digitaler Informationszwilling ist die Grundlage für einen Digitalen Zwilling – ob im Bereich Grobentwurf, in der Produktion, der Inbetriebnahme oder in der operativen Betriebsüberwachung. Bevor also z.B. über virtuelle Inbetriebnahmen nachgedacht werden kann, muss die Datenbasis im PLM System vollständig und durchgängig vorhanden sein.

Zurückgemeldete IoT Daten „aus dem Feld“ sind wertvolle Informationen für Rückschlüsse in der Produktentstehung und dem Produktmanagement. Sie fließen direkt in den Verbesserungsprozess (Änderungsmanagement) ein – der Product Lifecycle schließt sich zu einer „closed Loop“.

PLM-Plattformen wie PRO.FILE eignen sich besonders für den Aufbau solcher Digitalen Informationszwillinge. Diese wiederum sind Voraussetzung für digitale Konzepte bis hin zur virtuellen Inbetriebnahme. 

Der Digital Thread: Nutzen und Realisierung

Welche Auswirkung hat ein akuter Servicefall auf die Überarbeitung eines kritischen Bauteils? Liegen alle Informationen aus Produktentstehung und Produktmanagement digital im Product Data Backbone eines PLM Systems vor, werden bislang nur in den Köpfen der Mitarbeiter gespeicherte Beziehungen und Abhängigkeiten innerhalb von PLM Prozessen plötzlich im System sichtbar und eindeutig nachvollziehbar. Dies macht z.B. Rückschlüsse für die Produktentwicklung, oder Auswirkungsanalysen (Impact Analysis) für vorausschauende Wartung (Predictive Maintenance) versionsfein möglich. Das ist der Digital Thread.

PRO.FILE, Zentrum digitaler Kollaboration in der Produktentstehung und dem Produktmanagement

PRO.FILE ist Product Data Backbone und Kollaborationsplattform – entlang des Produktentstehungsprozesses und über den gesamten Product Lifecycle hinweg. Neben allen intern beteiligten Abteilungen und Disziplinen können Sie über die Collaborative PLM Plattform PROOM auch externe Partner, Lieferanten und Kunden nahtlos und kontrolliert in Ihre PLM Prozesse einbinden.


Digitales Beziehungswissen über den gesamten Product Lifecycle

Aufbau Digitaler Informationszwillinge als Voraussetzung für Digitale Zwillinge

Einbindung von IoT-Informationen in die kontinuierliche Verbesserung

Abbildung des Digital Threads: Sichtbarkeit und Nutzbarkeit digitaler Informationen über den Lifecycle. Moderne Kollaboration zwischen Abteilungen, Disziplinen und Externen

Anwendungsbeispiel: Striko Westofen

Bei StrikoWestofen gleicht kaum ein Industrieofen dem anderen. Jede Anfrage ist individuell und muss deshalb auch penibel dokumentiert werden. Dies geschieht über den in PRO.FILE erstellten Auftragsordner. Er enthält das digitale Abbild der Kundenanlage – also den Digitalen Informationszwilling – exakt so, wie sie tatsächlich gebaut wurde.

Dokumentationen und Betriebsanleitungen, CAD-Unterlagen aus der Mechanik, Elektroschaltpläne der E-Konstruktion, Ersatzteilkataloge oder Hydraulik- und Pneumatikpläne von externen Lieferanten legen wir dort ab.

Georgios Petsidis, Konstruktionsleiter

Zum Anwenderbericht

Erfahren Sie mehr
Weitere Informationen zu PLM-Lösungen



PRO.FILE Broschüre
Erfahren Sie, wie Sie mit dem PDM/PLM-System PRO.FILE Ihre Produktdaten und Dokumente verwalten, lenken und verbinden.




Mehr über PRO.FILE
Erfahren Sie mehr über die Plattform PRO.FILE für modernes Product- and Document Lifecycle Management.




PRO.CEED Broschüre
PLM wird endlich greifbar. Erfahren Sie, wie Sie die PLM-Lösung PRO.CEED in Ihrem Unternehmen nutzen können.




Zur Wissensseite PLM
Lesen Sie im Wissensbereich mehr über PLM mit PRO.FILE und die Basis für die Digitalisierung.